Dustbin Baby

Dustbin Baby is one of the relatively few books by Jacqueline Wilson I haven’t read. I’d hoped to catch up with the book before Sunday’s television drama on BBC1, but in the end I gave up. Whether I’d have cried more or less with the book behind me, I don’t know. This was good for anyone who likes damp hankies.

Dustbin Baby

Daughter, who had read the book, complained noisily about the casting of Dakota Blue Richards as April, and moaned over Juliet Stevenson, but in the end she didn’t seem to mind. The witch thought Dakota did a good job as April, and with no book to compare with, felt entirely happy with the whole thing. This was the second time in a row for me with Juliet Stevenson doing an inadequate mother figure (Place of Execution), and she does that so well.

Dustbin Baby was very much about families, and the different shapes they come in. Parent figures are allowed to be a bit lacking, but they can still be good. (The witch has been a weird parent for years, but as Offspring were born into this scenario, they don’t know anything else.)

I think we may need more televised Jacqueline Wilson.

2 responses to “Dustbin Baby

  1. I saw this and I have admired JS for years, but, as with Place of Execution, I did not enjoy JS in the role. For both, I am not sure if it was the character or the portrayal, although I err on character in the case of PoE as the character did not come across as sympathetic.

    Dustbin Baby had just started when I switched on the TV, but I was soon caught up with the story. I think JS’s character suffered from a lack of realism: a bit too posh and stuck in a time warp to be completely credible in her work environment and to take in a child with that type of background. But I did enjoy it. I think it was David Haig who stole the show for me: great acting as usual and a credible character to boot!

  2. I agree with JS in Dustbin Baby, but suspect it might be the BBC interpretation of her role that made her what she was. As for PoE I decided the character didn’t need to be likeable, in which case she played it just fine.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.