Treadmilling Gibbs

When I think back to the early days of NCIS, I know I only watched for the sake of David McCallum, and he didn’t disappoint. I found the writing pretty good and enjoyed most weeks’ viewing. Going away on holiday, however, I didn’t feel the need to catch up on missed episodes.

I didn’t particularly like Gibbs. That lasted until towards the end of season two when I finally found I could like him.

Thinking back to those sentiments, I’ve felt I must have missed something. That I was slow. But I’m finding the same thing all over again.

I got myself a treadmill, which is a frightfully boring activity, so I need entertainment as I ‘go.’ My ambition is to walk my way through all thirteen seasons of NCIS, unless I walk so slowly that it’s fourteen by then. Or more.

Walking chronologically with the NCIS team, I have rediscovered my early lack of enthusiasm for Gibbs. And with hindsight, because I know how his character has developed, he is behaving illogically. He was happier at the start than he was later, despite him supposedly mourning Shannon and Kelly. (While kissing Mrs Bellisario as the mystery woman in many episodes.)

He’s quite a jokey man at times, and both he and Kate do the film stuff later left to DiNozzo.

The other thing that grates is how the whole team – including the experienced Gibbs – learn as they go. I assume this is for the benefit of the viewers, but with hindsight it feels nonsensical.

Still, it’s fun. I’ll tread on.

Leave a Reply

