Trekking

OK, so it’s reasonably acceptable to be a Trekkie, isn’t it? I mean, it’s more than being a fan of a television show, and has escalated to an obsession within the hearts of, well, quite a few fans. We know this.

While the cat’s away – i.e. while the Resident IT Consultant treks round a few Swiss mountains – I have been mainlining NCIS. It’s not that he doesn’t watch or like it. But he doesn’t obsess, or feel the need to watch an episode again. And again. (Train videos are something else, obviously.) He has the same restraint I have regarding NCIS: Los Angeles. I like it and don’t object to the odd repeat, but there is no craving. And I wouldn’t dream of watching a Good Wife episode again. I think…

So what am I? Is there a good word for an NCIS obsession? Trekkie is such a marvellous term.

Ziva, DiNozzo and Gibbs

I feel it calms me down, watching an old episode. Or six, or twelve. And I suspect you can’t have this kind of relationship with lots of shows. More than one, maybe. But it’s like favourite food; you don’t even need to stop and consider what you’re about to eat/watch. You just do.

And I’d like a term for it.

But while most people will know Star Trek, even if they never watch, I have a sneaking suspicion that despite NCIS being the number one in America, it’s still not a household show title.

Cole and Gibbs

And by adding another sentence here I was able to add another picture… Obsessed? Moi?

Gibbs

(Photos © CBS)

Leave a Reply

