Old fogeys at Fästningsterrassen

They don’t want old fogeys like me and GP Cousin at Fästningsterrassen in Varberg. And to be perfectly honest, we don’t want them there either.

I like new edgy architecture as much as the next person, and unlike GP Cousin, I thought the new, rusty metal lift looked pretty good. I suspect Hamlet himself would have liked it, had he seen what’s been done to his castle.

What’s more, now that I’ve visited, I can – almost – see how you could achieve most of what the new management want, while keeping the fogeys mostly satisfied as well. Or at least not making them wish they’d died before seeing the ruins of this cultural heritage.

Because that’s really the point; ruining a traditional setting that ought to have been protected by law. I don’t mind poncy new restaurants wanting to fleece their customers by charging twice as much for food and drink than it warrants, or doing so in newly designed premises. If I feel like being fleeced, I can totally see myself going some place like that.

What I object to is that they were allowed near one of the most beautiful places on the Swedish west coast, that they were allowed to strip it down completely, and then that they didn’t even get a decent design job done in the ruins. So far, there is no paving down where people expect to sit. It’s been two years since the old place closed, and heavy diggers sitting around is not the look you want when fleecing.

The toilets… Yes, a definite improvement on the old portaloo behind the stage. But if that architect had thought a little, there could have been space made for the toilet paper dispenser and the waste bin and the customer. You know, without the need to hold your breath and cross your arms in front of you.

I admit, the prawn sandwich was as great as always. Great in size, and great for flavour. Great in price, as well, obviously. The cake was bought in, and not local. It seemed identical to what you find in many other overpriced cafés. Fogeys notice this kind of thing, whereas I suspect the preferred beautiful young customers wouldn’t have a clue and couldn’t care less.

Friendly service, even towards old fogeys. I might visit once a year, for the view, and for the prawns. And I wish them well. I’d hate for my beloved Fästnings-terrass to have been ruined for no good reason.

Leave a Reply

