A very long time ago

I was at the dentist’s yesterday morning, and managed to pay some attention to what was on the radio, while also being crowned and glued and whatnot.

They were looking back on the long career of Terry Wogan. Radio Two, not the dentist. So there were snippets from Eurovision, with a pretty hilarious voting commentary between Norway and Sweden.

And then Terry was heard to reminisce on the big changes to Eurovision after ABBA won in 1974. They played Waterloo, and while I didn’t quite lie there singing along, it was still fun.

The dentist asked me if I could remember this. I said that yes, of course, I could. I didn’t tell him exactly where I was or what I was doing, but I do remember. I wasn’t an ABBA fan in those days. (My dentist, who is a very lovely dentist, won’t have been born then.)

And the next thing he asked was whether the members of ABBA were well known in Sweden before Waterloo. I said they were, but didn’t dare point out I’d been a fan of BB almost ten years earlier. And more recently one of the As. He’s very good with general knowledge stuff and irrelevant facts, and can manage a long conversation on exoplanets if he has to. But clearly not ancient ABBA facts.

You had to have been there.

3 responses to “A very long time ago

  1. susan m conklin

    So glad to have found your blog. I have a question for you. Do you think it’s possible our critique of Gibb’s hair led to an improvement? Watching “Decompressed” and he’s looking much better.

    ny fan

  2. I would like to think so, Susan!

    I guess they check the pulse on what fans are saying in various ways, including Facebook, where I know people were quite divided on the hair. For me it was like toothache; I noticed the pain, but then it took me a little while to realise it was gone, because Gibbs looked so normal.

    I do know that my blog posts on Abby must have been noticed, as a few years ago someone invited me to a television programme featuring Pauley (which I couldn’t go to…).

  3. susan m conklin

    If you’re invited again, and are unable to attend ‘anything NCIS’ I’d be honored to attend for you (picture Tony accepting honors for Gibbs).

Leave a Reply

