Bye Bowie

My age and personal inclinations meant I had no interest in David Bowie when he started out. Over the years nothing changed, except it was clear that he wasn’t a one year wonder, but someone with a long and lasting career, and with countless fans.

I appear to be friends on facebook with most of them, if today’s outpourings of grief is anything to go by. I’m sorry about that, but glad for their sakes that they had someone who meant so much to them for so long. That is very special.

At first when the news came, I was confused, as I was fairly certain David had been in the news just a few days ago. Several times, in fact. I was right. It was his birthday, and he had a new album out last week.

And now he’s gone. I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

