Sister City, parts I and II

I’ve not watched NCIS: New Orleans for the best part of a year. That didn’t seem to matter much when my hand was forced this week. I did get a five minute summary from Daughter on what has happened in New Orleans, but I’d say that apart from one new character, who seemed all right, it was mainly Brody’s hair (which I didn’t like) that was new. So was Gibbs’, in a new hair-old hair kind of way. Thank you.

It’s clever to combine two episodes like this; one after the other, the way the two shows would come anyway. Better than the old ‘to be continued’ routine, and presumably good – even necessary – for New Orleans. Might be an idea to do more crossovers.

Luca and Abby

I liked Luca Sciuto, despite him being a little annoying, not to mention naïve, and I could just about suspend disbelief over yet another team-related involvement in the ‘crime.’ But I checked, and it looks as if the two episodes were not only written by different people, but had different directors as well. Which shows, and is why I have more or less given up on the New Orleans show. It’s just too weird.

How many recurring characters can they get away with killing off? It was obvious what was going to happen, since we clearly couldn’t lose Luca before we even met him. Someone had to die. (I suppose they will have to introduce replacement recurring characters; someone who might be bad, but whom we learn to like as we get to know them.)

Snake venom is always good. As are decapitated hippos (toy variety).

As I said, I liked it, but the first episode was the stronger one, and it makes me wish they could have done it in the reverse. Somehow.

One response to “Sister City, parts I and II

  1. I love ncis. haven’t watched it for ages though. what a great show. all kinds of twists and turns. it reminds me of that old show matlock, except with all kinds of cool characters instead of just one.

Leave a Reply

