Some season 12 thoughts on NCIS

I’m stunned. Episode one was fine. The second was really good, and whereas I prayed for more excellent instalments, I didn’t really believe in the likelihood of that coming true.

But this has been one hell of a season start. Along with NCIS: Los Angeles, which has given us four terrific episodes, I’m beginning to wonder what has got into those screenwriters. This is what you should be doing every time. Always. Keep this up and there will be no need to pension NCIS off any time soon. (Mind you, New Orleans could use some effort. I’ve still to watch the 3rd, 4th and 5th.)

It’s not even as if we have gone back a few years to, say, season eight. We’re almost right back at the very beginning, when things were truly good. When NCIS had something to prove. Becoming the leading show is a bad thing. Not only do fans have to share with others who don’t love in the same way, but complacency sets in, no matter what they say or think.

I was all set to expect this to be the last year. Maybe it will be. But in that case it can bow out with its head high. (Yeah, I know heads are low when you bow, but you know what I mean.) In fact, I wasn’t sure I wanted it to go on. Now I do. The older Gibbs is almost back to being the old Gibbs. The new Gibbs was just wrong.

105349_d00228b

This week’s episode was set on a ship, for goodness’ sake! That doesn’t happen every day. And Abby Borin is always good. We want more of her, and don’t you even dare think of sending her the way Paula Cassidy went!

(Photo © CBS)

Leave a Reply

