Goodbye to two greats

To begin with I only knew Robin Williams as the funny man in Sesame Street. I think he counted shoes, or some such thing. When I encountered him in a film later, I naively thought he’d made the jump to ‘bigger’ things. When Mork & Mindy was on television, we didn’t have one. So I never watched.

Thus I never knew him all that well. OK, I’ve seen Good Morning Vietnam, and Mrs Doubtfire and Good Will Hunting. He was good, but I don’t believe I found him enjoyable. At least not after Sesame Street. Actually, I did catch some Mork & Mindy episodes more recently, and they were fun.

Robin’s death came too soon and for the wrong reasons. Let’s hope depression will be seen in a new light from now on.

Lauren Bacall, on the other hand, lived a long life. As the Resident IT Consultant said, he was surprised to hear she was still alive. I knew that, but somehow I mainly thought of her as the young actress in To Have and Have Not, and as Mrs Humphrey Bogart. I was a great fan of hers and Humphrey’s back then. These days you don’t watch the old films anywhere near as much as they deserve.

Younger people – like Daughter – are most likely to have seen Lauren in Murder on the Orient Express.

I hope Lauren was happier than Robin was. It’s astounding to consider that she was Humphrey Bogart’s widow for virtually all of my life. Back then she was an adult and as such ‘old’ to me. It’s more recently that I’ve thought about her age and the age gap.

But enough about unimportant details. Thanks for all those marvellous films with Humphrey. I loved you both.

Leave a Reply

