If you can’t take the heat…

‘Too bloody hot below the Firth of Forth…’ Quite.

I’ve lost count of the number of people who have offered their condolences on my move to Scotland. You know, it’s cold. It’s dark. Basically, it’s not England (which as we know is the best place on Earth).

Now, I don’t need it to be warm all the time. I remind them the choice was mine and that I originate from a darker and colder place.

Right now it is very hot. Today is hotter than yesterday, which was very hot. I sweat a bit, but my joints like the heat.

Anyway, I was reminded of this climate misunderstanding when listening to Fascinating Aïda, and their song Lerwick Town. That’s the quote on the first line. I am actually below the Forth, if only just. So if their idea of global warming catches on, I expect it will get even hotter. Just as well we’re planning nice spots to sit in the garden, and that it faces north…

Meanwhile, I’m a little tickled by my temporary address. I live in the West Wing. And we have just gained a patio with outdoor furniture, on which it is too ‘bloody hot’ to sit. But it was generous of the gentleman upstairs to arrange it, not to mention pay for it, and I will be down there when it cools down.

Leave a Reply

