Bishop to NCIS; being the new girl

Most of us may well learn to love her. Eventually. But I have to admit to more resistance to Ziva’s replacement than I had expected to have. I am open to a replacement. I had just hoped to cringe a bit less on introduction. Ideally I’d have liked someone older and less perfect looking. Maybe not white. Certainly not blonde.

Emily Wickersham as Ellie Bishop is nice to look at. The trouble is, I had heard she appeared in The Bridge, which I’ve not seen. I did watch three episodes of Bron, and had to stop because the female, aspie detective was so cringe-worthy I almost blushed (which is not normal for me when watching television). By association, Bishop looks very similar, though I understand she did not play that role in The Bridge. But here she is; behaving oddly to say the least, and in what my aspie radar suggest is almost pure copycat casting. ‘To food associate’ is not enough of a quirky excuse. None of Gibbs’s earlier recruits; Kate, McGee, Ziva, have been absurd choices for the job of Special Agent. Bishop doesn’t seem to know what the job entails. She appears dense.

But, this is fiction, and I’m sure any dense-ness will have been magically removed by the next episode. Hopefully, or I’ll soon be blushing my way through more NCIS. To put if briefly; Bishop is not in the slightest an original character. And that’s disappointing.

I have heard complaints that she sidelined Abby and McGee too much. She did, but with a bit of luck that was merely for introductory purposes. Nell in NCIS: Los Angeles seemed to duplicate Eric’s job, but a few years on here we are, most of us happily seeing their twin nerds geeking away.

Bishop and McGee

OK, that’s enough moaning about Bishop. Unless she sinks NCIS, in its 11th season. The plot of Gut Check was far better than I’d been led to believe. The description of it beforehand had me thinking Bishop was a clairvoyant, which really would be taking the biscuit.

I like the new SecNav. She’s growing on me. She could even have a fling with Gibbs if she wanted, although that would be unseemly (in real life, anyway).

Leave a Reply

