How right I was

Forty minutes before the start of the last two episodes of The Killing, Son arrived back home. What did I do? Gave him dinner and then abandoned him while we watched.  I mean, you can’t just not watch something like that, can you? You’d not know what the rest of the country knew. You’d be an outsider.

Forbrydelsen III - Sarah Lund

Is it too cheap to say I told you so? I couldn’t actually work out how or why the character I pointed my finger at after the first Saturday of The Killing III could be ‘the one,’ but I was right. What we didn’t know at the time was that the last season of Forbrydelsen would be about two crimes. Not just the one at the beginning.

But then we suspected the murderer in season one as well, only felt they seemed too obvious. But with enough (red) herring(s) in-between, anyone can be guilty of almost anything. It was a very small cast, when all’s said and done. If the police didn’t do it and the politicians didn’t, there wasn’t a lot of choice left.

The Prime Minister and the company director both showed a surprising amount of backbone; until they didn’t, at the very end. Although I suppose it was to their credit they went as far as they did.

The Killing couldn’t end happily. It would have meant letting the fans down. I’m guessing those who have been disappointed were all set for happily ever after, and upset it didn’t happen. I’m quite satisfied, in a funny way.

Leave a Reply

