Brothers, eh?

I didn’t grow up with one, so wouldn’t know. But I have brought one up, and I can see that sometimes brothers might be somewhat annoying.

Even when I was a small child, Uncle was an adult. Prone to jokes and pranks, but still an ‘old man.’ I was quite surprised when Mother-of-witch told me about the milk jug. It was very nice, apparently, but it died one day when her six-year-old self was doing the washing up.

Her pesky older brother (12) teased her. She in turn attempted to throw water over him, by means of this jug, which was being washed. It slipped out of her hand and broke.

Now, I was very surprised to see a new side to Uncle, finding that he had not always been an old man. It’s worth remembering that most old(er) men have once been annoying little boys.

Happy 94th Birthday, to this former little boy! He has lost all four sisters, but not his sense of the ridiculous. If he could, I’m sure he’d still annoy girls with milk jugs.

One response to “Brothers, eh?

  1. And analysing my lack of any kind of older brother, I have more recently come to see that his place in my life was filled by Uncle’s son, GP Cousin. Sooo very annoying. (Still is, too.)

Leave a Reply

