License to watch

I pay good money for my Swedish television license. I can’t recall quite how much it is, but a normalish sort of amount. I’m under the impression the money still goes to the state owned television service people at Radiotjänst. At least, I’ve never been informed to the contrary.

And seeing as I pay this sum of money for about six of the 52 weeks I might be in Sweden for, it’s not cheap. Especially since I often find little to watch, and most of my visual entertainment comes from DVDs. But you still need a license.

So when the SVT1 broadcast went on the blink mid-Allsång på Skansen on Tuesday, we were annoyed. It righted itself, only to die more thoroughly an hour later, mid-Tomas Ledin. Luckily I was only watching out of curiosity, never having been a fan, and simply switched off the television.

On Wednesday we checked how things were. Iffy. But a semblance of SVT was available, although in a hiccoughy way. And so we left things until the Resident IT Consultant uncharacteristically wanted to watch the start of the Olympics on Friday night. He got perhaps ten minutes before the signal disappeared.

I googled, in order to see if this was a widespread problem. Seems it was. Hallandsposten online had an article from the day before, outlining the olympic anguish of fans near us, who had missed out on the football and were very concerned.

The Resident IT Consultant, who in his mis-guided British way expects problems like these to be sorted smartish and promptly, was surprised. I was surprised at the companies mentioned in the article. They seemed to be in charge, although I’d never heard of either Boxer or Teracom. Were they responsible for me too? Despite me paying Radiotjänst?

It seems they are. But they weren’t worried. According to Hallandsposten they had eventually (because you don’t want to hurry these things, do you? The customer is usually wrong) switched on their reserve wotsit, and things were running smoothly. End of story.

But we couldn’t see the Olympic sheenanigans. And there was nothing the matter with the non-SVT channels. You get Olympic games every four years, and surely we can wait until 2016?

What’s the hurry? This being Sweden, where authorities are rarely wrong, I don’t believe there will be any compensation for lack of signal.

Leave a Reply

