Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

They must have struggled with Benedict Cumberbatch’s hair. It’s not meant to be straight. It was – sort of – but kept waving at the back. Can’t quite get over Gary Oldman’s transformation from Sirius Black to Smiley.

The new Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is like good coffee or dark chocolate. Not that I use either, but I suspect it’s how it must feel if you do. Like this film. It’s pure art. It’s like being inside a good painting. Somehow.

I can’t say I understood all of it, and I can no longer recollect if I ever read this particular novel by John le Carré or not. Suspect not, but the Resident IT Consultant assured me they stayed close to the plot. But it’s not the kind of film you need to understand. You just enjoy. Immerse yourself.

It probably helps that it was directed by a Swede. I’m not sure why, but it appears to be something Swedes are good at. And Tomas Alfredson strikes me as very good indeed.

As usual the authentic 1970s were too authentic, so to speak. But it looked good. And I’m amazed to see they unearthed some blue cups this time. We’ve had the green ones in every single period film or television programme for decades.

Colin Firth

Benedict Cumberbatch

2 responses to “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

  1. It was rather like looking at a big painting with details to be found in the shadows. I enjoyed it though I wanted to care a little bit more for certain characters before the plot wended its way. But that’s me, needy. I saw this with an authentic Hungarian who was rather put off by some details – the red crescent on the dome in Budapest in the initial shot – she doesn’t remember it ever being there in that period; and women didn’t breast feed in public in those days she says. It’s a strong movie for the nose-thumbing it does to Hollywood norms – there are no explosions within the first five seconds and no segues in which a character explains what has just happened and what to expect in the next scene!

  2. I gather the book is set in Prague. Maybe they did that then?
    Actually, directed by a Swede it wouldn’t have occurred to him that you wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

