Gunter Sachs

Isn’t it odd what you are remembered for? Would Gunter Sachs have made the obituaries to the same extent if he hadn’t once married a certain famous woman?

I think of him more as the man who married the woman he continued being married to until he died last week. Mirja came from my home town, so it was obviously exciting when she replaced that other woman.

We didn’t know Mirja, but we knew someone who did. A someone who was then offered a job for the Sachses, but declined. I was starstruck enough to find it odd at the time, but hindsight and old age make me understand why the job offer was turned down.

Our first car was an Opel, and that’s another thing I remember that’s connected to Gunter Sachs.

So, first I think local girl, then Opel, and only then do I think Brigitte Bardot.

Leave a Reply

