And the news today…

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

Royal wedding

I’d be silly to avoid mentioning something I ended up sitting in front of the television for. As I was awake, it seemed to make sense to sit and rest and watch. It’s a Bank Holiday after all. Saw some of the foreign royals, but not Crown Princess Victoria, unfortunately. Was reminded of a good royal romance when I caught sight of Harald and Sonja of Norway.

Am glad I wasn’t invited. The apparent requirement for females to have something other than just hair on their heads is not for me. But whatever I’d have done, had I been there, it would have been more sensible, not to say more flattering, than what Beatrice and Eugenie got up to. You inherit certain things from your parents, and ‘dress sense’ seems to be the one for them.

The bridesmaids were cute. So were the two little nutcrackers. (That was Daughter’s term for the boys. And she’s right.) Philippa Middleton’s dress was to die for, always assuming you have the figure for it. Her sister Kate’s dress was also good… Men have it easy, with uniforms and top hats and stuff. Tails.

Less easy to fiddle with rings that stick on fingers and getting your gloves back on when outside again.

Not having been to many weddings, I’ve never been one for shedding tears, but it was quite a moment. I liked the music, too. Not stuffy as per normal. Angelic singing. From the choir, not so much the congregation.

Was a little worried that the carriage for the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh would collapse under them. Not that they are heavy; more that the carriage looked delicate. And tilting dangerously.

The sight of Harry and bridesmaids and nutcracker in their carriage made me think of Doctor Who. I think Harry would be a good replacement, should Matt Smith want to retire.

Wonder what the Middletons and the Cornwalls found to chat about in their carriage? I can think of easier combinations of people. And speaking of the father of the groom, I think he forgot about the ‘forsaking all others’ which was mentioned early on in the proceedings.

It’s sweet that after eight years together, the new Duke of Cambridge blushes when kissing his wife in public. Must be something he’s not used to. Having a wife.

Royal wedding

(All photos borrowed from the BBC and the Guardian. Thank you.)

2 responses to “And the news today…

  1. Pingback: Weddings | Bookwitch

  2. The Germans had two channels going, plus I could have got the BBC and CNN coverage, but I wandered off after the vows were exchanged – it was all a bit long and dull. And I say this as someone who sat through Victoria and Daniel last year, plus Mary and Frederick a few years back (watched with my mother – it was the middle of the night in Oz but we wanted to wait until the first dance, despite being on the verge of dozing off!)

    German TV showed Victoria briefly, by the way, though they did get a bit mixed up over random Windsor cousins and British ex-politicians. Overall, I’m glad I tuned in, at least for a little while, but I found the coverage a bit overblown. Am amused that the Guardian had (still has?) a “Republicans click here” button on their website, for the anti-royals.

Leave a Reply

