It’s a Wonderful Town

Holidays are a nuisance. Quite nice obviously, but sometimes things turn up that make you feel you would rather be somewhere else.

Like this morning. I could well see myself at the Lowry, having Connie Fisher sing to me. That would have been quite nice. I could have rubbed shoulders with Mark Elder. Sir Mark Elder CBE, I should say, and I would if I didn’t belong to the stuffers, thus feeling I can be more familiar.

There is a launch for a major Manchester venture coming this way next year: ‘Three of the North West region’s foremost arts institutions are uniting for the first time to present a unique production of Leonard Bernstein’s musical comedy Wonderful Town. The Hallé, The Lowry and the Royal Exchange Theatre will join forces from 31 March to 14 April 2012 for a brand new production of one of America’s most loved musical theatre masterpieces.’

That sounds OK, doesn’t it? A musical at the Lowry with the Hallé playing and Connie Fisher as Ruth Sherwood. I could certainly see myself going to see something like that.

Hopefully it will launch properly even without the HalléWitch present. But I would have liked to hear Connie sing. In person, I mean. I don’t often get this kind of invitation. Oh, well.

At least I will know not to book a holiday to go away in early April. Next year. Long wait.

One response to “It’s a Wonderful Town

  1. Pingback: A Wonderful Launch | CultureWitch

Leave a Reply

