You’ve got male voice choir

It’s the coincidence-ness of the iPod I like. As I began reading the article in G2 about the decline of Welsh male choirs (it’s not cool enough, and they expect you to come and practise twice a week…) my ear caught the song shuffling forward on the iPod next to me.

For the duration of the two pages I was accompanied by the Treorchy male choir, singing Unwaith Eto’n Nghymru Annwyl, which I’m not even going to begin trying to say. Pretty tune, though. Here it is, sung by Richard Griffith, all alone, because I couldn’t find a choir version on YouTube.

And then I went looking for a nice video clip with the Treorchy men themselves, and after a lot of them faffing about on television shows with Tom Jones and others, I decided that this one is much Welsher than the rest put together. And it’s Myfanwy, which I can almost pronounce.

I hope the Welsh choir tradition will be rejuvenated and that young boys will find a reason to turn up and sing. Maybe if I tell them the girls like it? (Girls do, don’t they?) It sends shivers up and down my spine, and it’s a fairly normal sort of spine.

Go on. Sing!

One response to “You’ve got male voice choir

Leave a Reply

