Living art

Can someone please tell me what’s wrong with saying ‘I know what I like’? As it refers to art, anyway. To me it’s perfectly logical. I do know what I like, and also what I don’t. A piece of art becomes no more pleasant to look at because it’s reckoned by experts to be ‘good’. Likewise, I can enjoy a ‘poor’ amateur painting.

I recently came across the idea that one should buy art by living artists, and I can sort of see the argument in that. Though I have to admit to having my walls covered in paintings by the amateur, and now sadly dead, Mother-of-witch. I love her paintings because they mean something to me.

Other paintings on our walls are favourites inherited from relatives. It feels good to be surrounded by stuff I always used to like. Again, most of it is not especially valuable.

One ‘proper’ artist whose pictures I love is Thomas Frisk. He is still working and even his name suggests good health. Visiting his studio can be dangerous to the bank balance however, and I have succumbed several times.

Thomas Frisk

Around 35 years ago I saw a large oil painting of his at an art gallery near where I lived, and I still remember it. It was a painting of a toilet. I mentioned this to Thomas more recently at another exhibition, and he told me how his mother had made some less complimentary comment about having a son who thought toilets were art. Then he hunted out what he thought was the offending article, except his fondness for toilets appears to mean he has painted lots of them. It wasn’t the same, but I liked this one too. So I bought it.

Most of Thomas’s paintings are so large that they could never enter our house. It’s not because our walls are full. (They are though.) It’s because Thomas often does oils so large that they won’t fit on a domestic wall. Doesn’t stop me from wanting them, however. And the day I find myself living in a palace I will know where to go for pictures.

Thomas Frisk

This little grey number is quite small, and I’m not sure why I like it. But I do. It’s a picture of a desk, which hangs close to our desks. Desks hanging together, so to speak.

The blue picture is an unusual mix of oil and ceramics. It was the first one I noticed when entering Thomas’s studio, and the one I kept coming back to after looking at everything else. Love at first sight?

Thomas Frisk

(Sorry about the leaf!)

One response to “Living art

  1. Pingback: Frisk-ier than ever | CultureWitch

Leave a Reply

