I can’t be the only one not watching that?

Being a CultureWitch doesn’t mean I watch everything on television. Most people seem to find time for rather a lot of it. I neither have the time, nor the inclination. There are programmes I wish I could fit in, but the X Factor isn’t one of them. I have to admit I don’t fully know what they do on that programme. It’s some sort of talent competition. With Simon Cowell, I think.

As I said earlier, I have great difficulty telling him apart from Simon Callow. It’s a name thing. Watching them in something might make a difference. But it’s not tempting.

The lovely Candy Gourlay – who is a marvellous children’s book author – thought I was not being serious when I pointed out I know nothing about the X Factor. I know very slightly more about Strictly Come Dancing, although I never watch it.

I suspect the X Factor is a different programme from the one Susan Boyle was discovered on. Am I right? And as for all these Big Brother and Celebrity Whatsits, I can’t keep up.

While having lunch out with the Esperanto Student earlier this year, she kept referring to Nancy, and after a while I simply had to bite the bullet and ask who Nancy was. Another blooming talent competition. And the ES was shocked I didn’t know.

CultureWitch the blog was not started up to write about these things. It was born so I can nerd at great length about my few big passions, and a bit less on my medium interests, filling in with bits and pieces of anything else that just happens to come my way.

So here’s to more NCIS and more Roger Whittaker, with a dash of Doctor Who, Fascinating Aïda, films, music, art, food. But no X Factor.

Leave a Reply

