Cold dips

There are approximately five minutes between the first and the second photo.

Varberg

In order not to turn up too early at Uncle’s sheltered housing with the aggressive crows, I took a detour to the harbour in Varberg, and plumped for yet another meal-with-a-view. I’d managed several al fresco feeds over a few days, and felt the view of the sea and Varberg’s Kallbadhus (literally cold bath house – you sweat in the sauna and then plunge into the sea below, whatever the time of year) would make a good spot for the cheese sandwich I’d been carrying around for two days.

It really wasn’t bad at all. The sandwich, I mean. To complement my meal I had the rice & strawberry yoghurt (?) foisted on me by Volvina, along with gorgeous pink plastic spoon. I washed everything down with some perfectly lukewarm tap water.

The children turned up at the end of the cheese sandwich, and they were mostly undressed by the time I finished the rice thing. So it was me and the sea and the Kallbadhus, and 25 ten-year-olds, or thereabouts. Considering the water temperature they were brave – or foolhardy – and egged on by their teacher.

Varberg

Now, how to return the borrowed spoon..?

Leave a Reply

