Kenneth McKellar

I see that Kenneth McKellar died last Friday. It was thanks to my friend Pippi that I knew about him at all. She used to play me his albums, to convince me of his greatness. I went on to buy one or two Greatest Hits type collections, mainly because I like Scottish music and Kenneth’s voice was a good voice, even if he never made it to favourite with me.

When we were young(-ish) and living in Brighton, the Resident IT Consultant and I attended one of his concerts. We were among the youngest and probably also among the the least Scottish in the audience, but who cares? And here you have to consider that the Resident IT Consultant was born in Scotland.

While Pippi and I were on holiday at Onich back in 1980, she was very excited, because after our week together, she was going down to Oban, where Kenneth appeared to have taken up residence for the summer, singing every night. And for a fan like Pippi it doesn’t get much better.

Here is a YouTube clip of The Northern Lights of Old Aberdeen, as Pippi spent some time au pairing in that fair city.

Leave a Reply

