Interviews and chat shows

Or ‘prat show’ as they are called in Sweden. It actually means chat show, but when looked at from the English language point of view it’s a slightly unfortunate description.

Interviews; I like them to be different from everything else you’ve seen or heard about the subject. I know that it could be someone’s first time, but for any fan to read yet another interview where X is asked the same questions yet again, drives me mad. I even found that I share my opinions with the editor of Elle, as to the desirability of a long interview slot and one-to-one only, with time to almost get to know X.

It’s what I like, but don’t always get. And I see no reason to offend someone on purpose with too personal a question. That’s why I don’t mind asking my subject to quickly look over the finished interview, to find things that aren’t right. With no scandal in mind, I’m more interested in deleting that extra sister I accidentally gave them, or finding that I’ve misheard their favourite quote.

I may have been too unkind to Mark Harmon on this blog a couple of months ago, when I said that he only ever says the same thing in interviews, over and over. He does, and he doesn’t. Each start of the new NCIS season he is wheeled out on the chat shows to say something, and the same goes for the end of every NCIS season. They ask him the standard questions, and the main difference in Mark’s replies is the number of the current season. And maybe the number of episodes they’ve done so far.

He’s really just the show’s representative, there to make people watch NCIS. Maybe it’s hard to make up new answers, maybe he can’t be bothered. Or perhaps CBS want him to say these very things, or the chat show host does.

Mark Harmon and Jay Leno

If we’re lucky, then the Lenos or the Craig Fergusons of this world will also choose to chat about something else, more personal, but still steering clear of Mark’s very private private life. It does feel, though, as if they pick the subject beforehand. ‘Let’s talk about holidays tonight’, say, or ‘let’s do that one about your father yet again’.

There were some indifferent or bad chat programme chats with Mark last autumn, but I suppose he has to do them when asked/told to. They weren’t unpleasant so much as just bad. That’s not counting the really dreadful one on Lopez Tonight, which surely overstepped the boundaries of decency. Real prat show, that. And Mark had to sit there and not punch the man in the face, because that wouldn’t be so good for NCIS. (Actually, I think it would.)

Mark Harmon

So, nice to see that he was back on Leno last week. Not so nice that the television channel removed all traces of it from YouTube and the like. This time it was the 150 episodes that came up, followed by a very manly chat about cars. So each time we get a little piece of Mark’s life, but the man is better than anyone I’ve come across for keeping people off. And I had no idea that Americans learned to drive in school. In the olden days.

At least on television we get Mark in person. Magazine articles often appear to quote what other people say about him, so I would guess he’s not too keen to take part. And most of them rehash the same stuff again. But his name sells.

Pam Dawber

I may be an idiot, but I don’t get why on all the shows they have to point out to Mark who he is married to. I’ve not come across that with other victims, so is this special for some reason? Other than to the two people involved. But I’d say that when someone next tells Mark that his wife has the best hair on television, that he just thanks them. It’s a compliment, after all, even if he didn’t create Pam’s hair himself.

See, I just mentioned her myself. I’m no better than the rest.

8 responses to “Interviews and chat shows

  1. The Swedish for ‘closed’ is ‘slut’, which has always made for some unintentionally amusing displays in the window of H&M when I’ve been there.

    Is ‘prat’ where we get ‘prattle’ from?

  2. It’s more ‘end’ than ‘closed’. But a sale of sluts? I know what you mean. I’m sure prattle is related to ‘prat’.

  3. I agree with you on what you blogged. They do ask the same ol things. and bring up the same ol’ points. its always about who he’s married to (like he didnt already know) his father, (who im sure by now everyone already knows), him playing football in college (which was over 30 years ago so we could drop it by now) and that time he saved those kids. Im finding it hard to believe that interviewers cant think of anything eles to ask the guy, considering he dosent say much to begin with.

  4. Maybe we could arrange to have the studio audience all groan together, very loudly, to indicate that they already know whatever it is the host has picked to talk about. It’s rather like someone’s favourite story that their children have heard so often that they complain, loudly.

  5. Surely … he’s married to … Mrs Harmon?

  6. Don’t think it’s as simple as that, Ian.

  7. So here we are, 3 years later … Mark seems to have taken a step back from the interview spotlights in NCIS’ 10th season, the other NCIS stars have, well deserved, taken his place there, which seems to work out very well for all of them.
    Mark’s best answer? “None of your business” … with a huge smile :).

  8. Yes, I thought I’d not been seeing him around! The recent thing with Pauley was good. And the ‘younger’ ones tweet. Gibbs is a dinosaur who probably doesn’t know about Twitter.

Leave a Reply

