Wallander-Krister

You have to love Swedish tabloids. Well, you don’t, and I don’t, but as I googled Krister Henriksson, I sank low enough to read the tabloids, as well. And they don’t just write a few ‘facts’ about the actor, they look him up properly, red tape and all, so now we know how much money he made last year. Really!

Krister is the Wallander everyone raves about these days. Sorry, Branagh! My first Wallander was someone else again, Rolf Lassgård, so when Krister suddenly turned up on the box, I watched most of the episode not realising I was seeing Wallander himself. Oh, well.

On reflection Krister is Wallander. I’d never heard of the man before that embarrassing Wallander mistake, but I gather he’s done quite a lot. It’s he who shouts ‘Hermione’ in such a strange and Swedish manner when he reads the Harry Potter audio books. And he owns a theatre.

For reasons I needn’t go into here, I’ve just read a 16 year old interview with Krister, which is interesting. It’s well before any Wallander, for one thing. It also seems that he was getting fed up with playing boyish types, on account of looking so young. Now that he is close to retirement age, that feels odd, but we were all young, once.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think Henning Mankell wrote ten Wallander novels. We now have season 1 of Krister’s Wallander films, comprising 13 episodes. And season 2 is being filmed, with at least another seven. So I’d guess it’s the old ‘based on the characters of’ thing. But at least everyone loves them, and maybe one day they will be allowed to graduate from BBC4.

I can hardly go anywhere without people enthusing about Wallander. And you lot are getting so much better on the pronunciation front. Hope Branagh is listening.

(Photo from www.inspector-wallander.org)

3 responses to “Wallander-Krister

  1. Anna Concannon

    Hi love your bloog about Wallander.
    I’m doning my undergraduate disertation on Wallander and would like to know where you found the “16 year old interview with Krister, which is interesting…or one thing. It also seems that he was getting fed up with playing boyish types, on account of looking so young. ” I’d like to read as part of my research.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Best

    Anna

  2. It was Månadsjournalen from December 1993, but I’d say from a quick look at Google that you don’t get it online. The magazine no longer exists, so I suppose they felt no need to publish on the internet.

    But if you can read Swedish, there is obviously a lot more to be found on google.se if you have a look.

  3. Kenneth Branagh is just great a Wallander. Perfect in my mind for the job. He always makes me feel tired when I watch it though.

Leave a Reply

