Gorgonzola?

Perhaps I shouldn’t have watched Inspector Montalbano directly after two hours of Rejseholdet. But I did, because it was on, at that precise moment, and I wanted to see what it was like. It was the last episode of the series, and I haven’t read any of the books, but I hoped it would be illuminating.

For those better informed than the witch; was it meant to be quite so cheesy? Or was that just me?

Is it more Midsomer than Rebus, so to speak?

2 responses to “Gorgonzola?

  1. Not sure how many of your readers have seen both, but they aired on the same channel on Australian television, and were also released there on DVD. (Which is how I own the complete Unit One, Eagle, and recent Wallander plus several volumes of Kommissar Rex and Montalbano.)

    Anyway, since I’m rather too fond of both programmes I can say this much – Montalbano is certainly not Midsomer. The odd episode has silly moments, even when it’s been translated directly from a not-at-all-silly page (I think some of Camilleri’s subtleties don’t work as well on the screen; what’s wry in print can appear too quirky on television) but the overall series is really enjoyable and not cheesy.

    However, Rejseholdet may be the worst possible comparison. I’ve seen eposodes of both Rex and Montalbano in close proximity to it, and it can make other shows seem more light-hearted than they actually are. Don’t know if it’s the light? Montalbano is certainly very pictureseque and Rejseholdet is not, even in scenic locations.

    So I’d give Montalbano another try, but I’d start from the beginning. I think those episodes are a bit better, personally.

    (PS: I’ve been tempted to ask the same thing about The Eagle/Ørnen: En krimi-odyssé. I can take LaCour being psychic, and in fact he’s my favourite character in Rejseholdet, but Hallgrim’s delusions merely make me really, really irritated. It is nice to see Ghita Norby in both shows though.)

  2. Thank you. It’s nice to be surrounded by people in the know. Now all I need is lots of time to slouch in front of all those DVDs.

Leave a Reply

