Let the Right One In

If you can stomach (and I really don’t mean that literally) the blood at the beginning of Tomas Alfredson’s film, Let the Right One In, you’re probably OK for the rest of the film. I took Son with me for support if this horror film should get too much for me, forgetting that he faints faster at the sight of blood than I do. So, apart from that…

It’s a good thing the rest of the world has us Swedes to make long and slow and somewhat weird films, so that others don’t. This film wasn’t too long; it’s Swedish, so is meant to be like that. Director Tomas Alfredson is the son of a very funny man, so it’s obvious he has to do something less funny, like horror. 

Lina Leandersson in Let the Right One In

I prefer vampires to bullies. I think. There’s some serious bullying in this film. It looks a little ‘mild’ to start with, but gets quite ‘interesting’ as you go along. Don’t underestimate those angelic looking Swedes next time.

The witch was taken aback to find the formerly young and handsome Per Ragnar cast as an older, quietly menacing type. He was not a vampire, but far scarier than his young bloodsucking companion. Nice as she was, though, would you set your friendly vampire on your bullies?

Set in the 1980s in a Stockholm suburb, this was a lovely period piece, where they got most of the retro aspects right. The colours of the school bags I’m not sure about, and the train was far too old, albeit charming. This wasn’t a terribly vegetarian film, unless watching it brings vegetarian-ness on to unsuspecting carnivores. Veggie Son looked perky afterwards as he inquired if I was ready for lunch.I was.

And subtitle-translator-person: No rattlesnakes in Sweden. Huggorm means adder. Just so you know.

4 responses to “Let the Right One In

  1. I was reluctant to see this, because I don’t like horror. Then I heard Xan Brooks call it ‘kind of brilliant’ on a podcast. So I went along.

    I don’t get queasy at the sight of blood, and the actual cutting and/or biting into flesh is hidden and left to your imagination, so that was OK. Just about. The worst bit for me was someone’s face burnt by acid and someone else going up in flames. But it was no worse than ‘The Dark Knight’. If you endured that, you should see this.

    After my first viewing I left the cinema, not knowing if I agreed with Xan Brooks or not. But I found myself thinking and wondering about lots of different aspects of the film.

    So I went back to see it again two days later, and found myself appreciating the dark humour and the message much more. I now agree with Xan Brooks. I think it’s ‘kind of brilliant’.

    I loved Twilight, too, but although the two are ostensibly both ‘vampire films’ comparing one to the other makes about as much sense as comparing Taxi Driver and Wuthering Heights.

    P.S. Thanks for the clarification; I was wondering about the use of the word ‘rattlesnake’!

  2. Pingback: Crime tourists « Bookwitch

  3. Pingback: Let who in? | CultureWitch

  4. Pingback: A star translation | Bookwitch

Leave a Reply

