A bridge too far

That was a page 147 for me. Thank you (barely) and goodbye to The Bridge. Anything quite so unlikeable and horrible and pointless (and that’s just the third episode), leaving me not wanting to watch more, and with no special interest in how it ends, who did it, or anything like that.

The Bridge

I like Rohde. He is OK, for a Dane. I’ve trawled through the other characters, and can’t find anyone else who seems either real (in a fictional television kind of way) or in possession of any redeeming features. The fact that half of them are Swedes, and that they look and sound like people I might know and mix with, makes it worse. It’s easy enough for the British to snigger in the safety of this splendidly isolated island.

Sarah Lund’s awful boss made for an interesting rough sleeper, but as we left him between the two episodes I felt unwell. (OK, so I felt unwell before I started too, but this was really something.)

When the shoplifter said she came from Copenhagen; did you think she’s Danish? And now that it seems it’s all being done by someone with Asperger Syndrome, that’s fine, isn’t it? Takes one to catch one.

I would like to think that by next week it will be marvellously clear why it’s been awful so far, and The Bridge will morph into something of a masterpiece. Make me regret I gave up. But I doubt it.

The Bridge

4 responses to “A bridge too far

  1. adele geras

    I am fascinated by this authentic Swedish view of things. And I doubt very much whether Asperger’s will be the perpetrator’s state. Saga is Asperger’s but don’t you think she’s a sympathetic character? I have a few loose ends which I’m not clear about….how does the shoplifing Danish teen fit into anything? And has that ninja type person got short term memory loss? Or what? I am still intrigued….will let you know ifyou need to do catch up!

  2. Shoplifting teen is Swedish. First I thought she’d be a victim, until I decided maybe we are meant to think that and she’s really vicious. Deep down.

    My bet is on the colleague of the reporter.

  3. Don’t we care for Danes? Or was this subtle humour???

  4. Unsubtle humour, Jean. They don’t think much of us humourless, stiff, bossy older brothers, so in self defence we need to say these things. They are right about us, of course.

Leave a Reply

